2008 AVCA All-America Teams Announced for NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball

OMAHA, Neb. (December 17, 2008) – “The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 28th annual AVCA Division I All-America Teams for women’s volleyball. The awards will be presented Dec. 19, 2008, at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet at the Qwest Convention Center in Omaha, Neb.

Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams is comprised of 14 athletes. The Division I AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced on Dec. 19 at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet.

Stanford University middle blocker Foluke Akinradewo and Penn State University outside hitter Nicole Fawcett headline this year’s selections, as they were the only four-time AVCA All-America honorees, each having earned three-consecutive First-Team nods and a Second-Team distinction in 2005. Joining Akinradewo and Fawcett in making their third-straight First-Team selection is Stanford outside hitter Cynthia Barboza, Penn State outside hitter Megan Hodge and UCLA setter Nellie Spicer.

Of all of the First-Team honorees, all but one have previously garnered AVCA All-America recognition during their careers, with Purdue University middle blocker Stephanie Lynch snagging her first-ever honor. A total of 23 athletes -over half of this year’s recipients – representing the three teams are first-time AVCA All-America selections.” More from AVCA.org.