2007 AVCA All-America Teams Announced for NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball

SACRAMENTO, Calif. December 27, 2007. “The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) is proud to announce the 27th annual AVCA Division I All-America Teams for women’s volleyball. The awards will be presented Dec. 14, 2007, at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet at the Sacramento Convention Center.

Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams is comprised of 12 athletes. The Division I AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced on Dec. 14 at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet.

University of Nebraska senior right side/opposite hitter Sarah Pavan becomes only the fourth player, and the first player not to play for Stanford University, in the history of the AVCA Division I awards program to make the AVCA Division I First-Team All-America four consecutive years. The only other players to accomplish that feat were Bev Oden (1989-92), Kerri Walsh (1996-99) and Logan Tom (1999-2002). Christal Morrison, outside hitter for the University of Washington, is the only other player in 2007 making her fourth appearance on an AVCA All-America Team, having made First-Team in 2006, Second-Team in 2005 and Third-Team in 2004.

The selections were made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee: chair -Pi’i Aiu, Colorado; Andy Banachowski, UCLA; Laura Farina; Barry Goldberg, American; Debbie Kirch, Green Bay; Jolene Nagel, Duke; Mark Rosen, Michigan; and Pat Stangle, Wyoming. The AVCA Awards Chair is New Hampshire head volleyball coach Jill Hirschinger. More from AVCA.org.